The newsroom for Journal Community Publishing Group (Now Media Group), which publishes the paper you are reading, racked up a record 75 awards on Friday, Feb. 24, at the Wisconsin Newspaper Association's annual convention in Middleton.

The total in the 2016 Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation's Better Newspaper Contest bested JCPG's record of 72 awards for a single newsroom set last year. JCPG, which publishes 19 weekly editions, three monthly magazines and 13 websites, has been the most decorated newsroom in the state for the last three years. For the last two years, regional state and national awards have totaled 94 or more.

Lake Country Reporter led the group in total awards with 18, followed by the Oconomowoc Focus with 12, Wauwatosa Now with nine, Mukwonago Chief with seven, Germantown-Menomonee Falls Now and Franklin-Greenfield-Hales Corners-Oak Creek Now five each, North Shore Now and Waukesha Now with four each, Kettle Moraine Index three, and two each for Sussex Sun, Brookfield-Elm Grove Now, Muskego-New Berlin Now, Greenfield-West Allis Now.

"I am not sure many people outside of our own newsrooms know how hard our staff works to bring the news to our readers, to share interesting stories, to shed light on important local issues and to be a watchdog for government. They work so hard to deliver for our readers. I am so proud of all they do, but nothing makes me happier than to see their peers recognize what I already know about the most decorated newsrooms in the state: They are incredible," said Editor-in-Chief Scott Peterson.

Lake Country Reporter 

first place, spot news photo, Todd Ponath

first place, sports photo, Scott Ash

first place, page design, Matt Colby

first place, best website, LakeCountryNow.com

second place, community service award, Yule Feed Families

second place, open records, freedom of information, Bob Dohr

second place, local column, Scott Peterson

second place, sports news story, Evan Frank,

second place, all-around newspaper photography

second place, feature photo, Scott Ash

third place, headlines, JR Radcliffe

third place, open records, freedom of information, Kelly Smith

third place, feature profile, Donna Frake

third place, local government reporting, Tyler Langan

third place, digital project, JR Radcliffe, Dan Polley

honorable mention, enterprise/interpretive reporting, Donna Frake

honorable mention, ongoing/extended coverage, Bob Dohr

honorable mention, digital project, JR Radcliffe, JP Cadorin

Kettle Moraine Index

first place, sports photo, Todd Ponath

honorable mention, feature (nonprofile), Erik Hanley

honorable mention, feature (profile), Kristen Kubisiak

Oconomowoc Focus 

first place, sports page or section, JR Radcliffe, Evan Frank, Matt Colby

first place, breaking news, Donna Frake

first place, local column, Floss Whalen

second place, special section, Amy Nixon, Matt Colby, staff

second place, environmental reporting, Tyler Langan

second place, Evan Frank

second place, Todd Ponath

third place, photo essay, Scott Ash

third place, page design, Matt Colby

honorable mention, ongoing/extended coverage, Donna Frake and Steve Martinez

honorable mention, sports news story, JR Radcliffe

honorable mention, portrait or artistic photo, Scott Ash

Mukwonago Chief

second place, feature (nonprofile), Andrea Tritschler

second place, sports photo, Scott Ash

third place, ongoing/extended coverage, Erik Hanley

third place, sports feature, JR Radcliffe

third place, feature photo, Scott Ash

honorable mention, breaking news, Carol Spaeth-Bauer

honorable mention, sports photo, Scott Ash

Brookfield-Elm Grove Now

second place, lifestyle page or section

third place, general news, Geoff Bruce

Franklin-Greendale-Hales Corners-Oak Creek Now

second place, general excellence

second place, rookie reporter of the year, Tiffany Stoiber

second place, digital project, Rachel Minske and Todd Ponath

third place, feature photo, Peter Zuzga

third place, video, CT Kruger

Germantown-Menomonee Falls Now

first place, front page

first place, local column, Larry Hanson

first place, local sports column, Steven Tietz

third place, photo essay, CT Kruger

third place, page design, Matt Unrau

Greenfield-West Allis Now

third place, enterprise/interpretive reporting, Jane Ford-Stewart

third place, ongoing/extended coverage, Jane Ford-Stewart

Muskego-New Berlin Now

first place, reporting on local education, Jane Ford-Stewart

third place, environmental reporting, Jane Ford-Stewart

North Shore Now

second place, local sports column, Steven Tietz

second place, feature page design, Matt Unrau

honorable mention, local column, Jeff Rumage

honorable mention, overall page design, Matt Unrau

Sussex Sun

third place, sports page or section, JR Radcliffe, Evan Frank, Matt Colby

honorable mention, general news photo, Scott Ash

Waukesha Now

second place, business coverage, Christopher Kuhagen

second place, social media journalism, Christopher Kuhagen

third place, sports feature, JR Radcliffe

honorable mention, feature (profile), Christopher Kuhagen

Wauwatosa Now

first place, video, CT Kruger

second place, photo essay, Peter Zuzga

second place, video, CT Kruger

third place, breaking news, Rachel Minske

third place, social media journalism, Christopher Kuhagen

honorable mention, rookie reporter of the year, Andrew Gruman

honorable mention, breaking news coverage, Rachel Minske and Peter Zuzga

honorable mention, reporting on local education, Rachel Minske

honorable mention, general news photo, Peter Zuzga

Read or Share this story: http://www.lakecountrynow.com/story/news/2017/02/27/newsroom-wins-record-number-state-awards/98455710/